Whistler Citizen of the Year

Whistler’s Longest Standing Celebration

Whistler's 2022 Citizen of the Year Nominees Announced

The winner will be announced at the Annual Whistler Excellence awards on October 20, 2022 at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler, tickets are available in the link below.

The 2022 finalists are:

Carol Leacy

[Carol] has volunteered countless hours in the strategic planning leading up to the incorporation of the whistler 360 healthcare collaborative and has provided incredibly effective leadership and change management to the ever growing team.

Karin Kausky, 2021 Whistler Citizen of the Year
Stella Harvey

Stella has helped hundreds of local writers to develop their craft through the Writer-in-Residence program, and mentorship. Retiring in 2022, she has devoted uncountable hours of service to Whistler’s arts and culture, yet has never paid been paid for her extraordinary service.

Rebecca Wood Barrett, Author
Dave Williamson

Dave has been a relentless volunteer whose love of our community has greatly benefited Whistler. Dave has always been an individual thinker who is unconventional and uncompromising in his principals. He is extremely knowledgeable and is especially effective because he has always put the interests of the community ahead of his own.

Steve Bayly, 2018 Whistler Citizen of the Year

Established in 1969

The Whistler Citizen of the Year Award keeps outstanding community builders front of mind. Whistler Community Foundation is honoured with the task of selecting the annual recipient of this prestigious award.

The Whistler Citizen of the Year is an outstanding community builder who contributes significant volunteer time to enhancing the quality of life in Whistler. This individual demonstrates extraordinary leadership and community service outside of employment. Well-respected in the community, they inspire others with their caring and positive attitude and spirit of cooperation.

Award Criteria

An eligible candidate

  • is an individual – couples must be submitted as two individual nominees
  • may live outside of Whistler, however each candidate will be reviewed solely on their volunteer contributions to the Whistler community
  • may be of any age
  • is recognized for their volunteer contributions
  • volunteers their time, outside of the realm of their employment, in one or more activities or with one or more community organizations
  • demonstrates a positive attitude
  • works respectfully with others in the spirit of cooperation
  • is an exemplary leader who displays honesty and integrity
  • has made a lasting impact on a variety of community members or aspects of community life
  • continuously inspires others to give to the community

The Whistler Citizen of the Year award is presented annually at the Whistler Chamber of Commerce Whistler Excellence Awards.

Award Presented by

Race and Company Logo

The 2022 Whistler Citizen of the Year Award is presented by Race & Company LLP.

Excellence Awards News

Nominees & Winners of the Citizen of the Year (2014 - 2020)

Watch Here

2021 Winner Karin Kausky

2020 Winner Dave Clark

2019 Winners: Keith Reynolds and Pat Montani

2018 Winner: Steve Bayly

2017 Winner: Heather Paul

2016 Winner: Cathy Jewitt

2015 Winner: Anne Townley

2014 Winner: Sue Adams